The Catalyst Awards

North Lanarkshire has run its own teenage book award for the past eight years, and on Friday, Our Lady’s is hosting The Catalyst Awards for the very first time.

There have been some brilliant authors and books participating in the Catalyst Awards over the years. The winners have always been chosen by pupil votes and include plenty of stories that are still favourites:

  • 2010 winner: Spider by Linda Strachan
  • 2009 winner: Nostradamus Prophecy by Theresa Breslin
  • 2008 winner: Zenith by Julie Bertagna
  • 2007 winner: Henry Tumour by Anthony McGowan
  • 2006 winner: Hold On by Alan Gibbons
  • 2005 winner: Divided City by Theresa Breslin
  • 2004 winner: (Un)arranged Marriage by Bali Rai

This year is no exception. Mrs Millar’s 3rd and 4th year English classes have cast their votes for the four shortlisted titles:

  • Where I Belong by Gillian Cross
  • When I was Joe by Keren David
  • Grass by Cathy MacPhail
  • TimeRiders by Alex Scarrow

All four authors will be arriving at Our Lady’s on Friday morning, wondering which of them will raise the Catalyst Award for 2011.

This entry was posted in Author visits, Authors, Book awards, Books and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.