Keren David

We were delighted to welcome author, Keren David, to the LRC on Thursday. Keren’s book, When I was Joe is shortlisted for the Catalyst Book Award 2011, so Mrs Millar’s 3rd year and 4th year classes were invited along to be part of the audience since they’ve been reading the Catalyst books since last term.

We also invited the Wednesday Lunchtime Creative Writers along, and then couldn’t get rid of them :-). Not surprising really, since Keren is also a highly experienced journalist, and now also teaches Creative Writing, so the writers had loads of questions. And every answer sparked another question…

I’m pretty sure we could have kept Keren happily occupied all day, but another school was waiting, so we had to say goodbye until the next day, when Keren and her fellow shortlisted authors arrived at OLHS for the Catalyst Awards 2011.

When I was Joe and its sequel, Almost True are available to borrow from the LRC.

This entry was posted in Author visits, Authors, Book awards, Book reviews, Books, Creativity, Literacy, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Keren David

  1. What lovely comments! I had a brilliant time visiting your school, I could quite happily have answered your questions all day and I’m sad there weren’t any copies of When I Was Joe to sell on the day. Maybe another time!
    All the best

    Keren

  2. Jill says:

    I really enjoyed reading “When I Was Joe” and it was great to hear how the story had been thought up. I loved hearing about Keren’s life as a journalist as well as a writer and I think she inspired us all. Thank you!

  3. Gemma says:

    Two words: Absolutely brilliant. This woman inspired me so much. Her passion and love for her work was really awe-inspiring, She was down to earth and so helpful to me, even though I was probably really annoying by asking so many questions; she even gave me a few ideas for my own work. Keren was truly a pleasure, and the group talk she gave was captivating. I loved it. Thank you Keren!

  4. David says:

    Keren David is a very talented writer who has an amazing life story. She was really inspiring to me and the whole class and I would love to read her award winning book ” When I was Joe “. From just her talking to us, I have learned that it has a very interesting and thrilling plot. Again the talk she gave was very inspiring and interesting.

  5. Hayley says:

    I really loved the visit, it was very interesting! Keren David was really nice and she even stayed behind to talk to the Creative Writing group! I came early so I had a front row seat, and I wasn’t disappointed, it was really inspiring.

  6. Caitlin-Deanna says:

    Keren David is such an amazingly talented writer.I have just finished reading her book when I was Joe which I really loved and enjoyed cover to cover. Her book had a great plot which really kept you on edge because you never knew what was going to happen. I thought it was extremely clever of her to add other sides to Clare and Ellies characters which I was not expecting at all,it really made me wonder how two sisters could be so different from each other. My heart went out to Clare she was by far my favourite sister. In person Keren David is such a down to earth kind women who I would love to meet again in the near furture.

  7. Aaron says:

    It was great meeting Keren! She was such an inspiration, not only to me, but to many others!
    I REALLY WANTED TO BUY WHEN I WAS JOE at the Catalyst Book Awards, (which was a shame she didn’t win but, all the other writers were fab too!) however, sadly, there were no copies of When I was Joe for sale. I hope to pick it up in the library very soon, because from what I have heard, it is a really good book!

    It would be great to get another visit from Keren, because I’m sure there are a heck of a lot more questions that a certain group of writers would like to ask her!

Leave a Reply

